The Company Band

We’re a classic rock cover band.  Bon Jovi.  The Who.  Tom Petty.  etc.  I play on most of the songs.  The big gig was the company holiday party.  We played at the Showbox at the market.  I headlined the Showbox at the market.  Suck on that, Fleet Foxes.

We found a tiny pipe in the green room.  Everyone kept referring to it as a crack pipe.  I’m pretty sure it wasn’t a crack pipe.

It was an 80s-themed party.  We played in front of a big screen showing the movie Dirty Dancing.

I wore a pin-striped suit, a top hat, and a feather boa.

My nickname is “Dr. Charles Schaefer, inventor of the Kitchen Couch.”

After the show, a blacked out Genevieve came into the green room.  “Molly, you were so good! I mean soooooo goood.”

“Thanks! Charles was amazing too, wasn’t he?”

“no no no no no, you were like the best singer I’ve EVER HEARD.”

I went to get the car.  I shouldn’t have been driving.  I pulled into the parking lot and came back inside to get my keyboard.  Sarah Beaucheman stopped me.

“Charles, you were so great! This is my friend [relativelyattractivegirlsname]”

“You were so good!”

“Uh, thanks! it was really fun.”

“And your girlfriend, oh my god, did you see his girlfriend?”

“She’s soooo hot.”

“I know, right?”

 

That is all.

About this entry