There is no such thing as “false hope.”

“Grandmama” -Dikembe Mutombo (emphasis on GRAND and the second MA).

She turned 95 on Wednesday.  We went there that evening for a bit and then again on Sunday.

“Well!” she says when she sees me.  “I didn’t expect to see you!”

“Well it’s your birthday,” I say.

“Did you get time off of work?”

“It’s Sunday, Grandma.”

She doesn’t recognize “God Save the Queen” and she doesn’t remember what she ate for lunch, but she seems happy enough.  She was always pretty self-deprecating anyway.

Another woman asked me if I was the one who had married into the MGM family.

Amelia is (has been, was, always will be) in that bitchy post-toddler phase that I presume will last until she’s 25.  When we’re playing Monopoly she blatantly makes up new rules and lies about  which properties she has and how much money she has to pay.  My dad let’s her get away with it.  I’m a little less magnanimous.

“I changed your diapers.”  I want to say,  “I got your poop on my hands.  You spit up on me.  It was disgusting.”

Meghan B(unting) quit her job to go fly around Europe for a while, which was reminiscent to me of Meghan B(right) skipping town to gallivant in Eastern Asia for a bit.  She has had two going away parties that I have counted so far.  There is another (smaller) one tomorrow.  There is another (larger) one on Saturday.

There was a hymnal on the piano and Grandmama’s.  I played Amazing Grace.  It reminded me of being in a fancy private school at the age of 6 and singing hymns for a half hour every morning.  There is a hymn called “This is My Father’s World.”  The “Father” in the hymn is God.  When I was in fancy private school at the age of six, on Fathers Day, the school had some sort of gathering and they did a mass or whatever the hell schools do and the kids would be in the front singing the hymns facing the altar, then the teachers had the kids turn around and face their dads and sing “This is My Father’s World.”  According to my mom (who was at the service as well as was a teacher at the school), all the dads were crying.

About this entry