Look at me! I’m a fucking blogger.

So here are some things I’ve been doing lately.

Hanging out with new people,  I notice that I adopt their lingo.  I’m not sure if they adopt some of my mannerisms and aphorisms as well.  But I’ve been saying “I know, right?” a lot.

Improvising:  I think my interest is starting to wane a bit, if only because I’m frustrated that I haven’t made much progress lately.  I don’t know if I am willing to put in the time required to be really good at this.  And if I can’t be really good at something I usually give it up after a while.

Why is this?  A lot of people are content doing something they find fun simply because it’s fun and not because there is any competitive reward tied to it.  I only do things out of competitiveness; to prove that I am the best in the world at what I am doing.  Being a business analyst.  Being a magical card player.  Being an improvisational actor.  How do some people get satisfaction out of doing activities that they will never be more than average at?  Is it because I haven’t found anything that I just enjoy doing for the sake of doing it?  Who does that, anyway?

Took a week off work:  I played a lot of Mass Effect 2.  I went to Portland; visiting Powells, Voodoo Doughnuts, and the PAM (also having a discussion about whether or not the reason the name PAM is funnier than the name SAM is because it’s a woman’s name).  Eating at a food cart.  Eating at Toro Bravo.  Eating at Apizza Scholls.  Deciding that Seattle pizza (by that I mean, pizza that is made and sold in Seattle) is now ruined for me and that I can never enjoy it again.  Drinking a lot of beer and drawing on a chalkboard.  Sitting in a small “soaking pool” (large hot tub).

Meghan took some headshots of me, showing that I indeed have a wrinkly face and reminding me that I don’t own any lamps.

Watched Amelie:  After years of living in the shadow of Trevor telling me which movies he liked and me avoiding the ones that he said he didn’t like,  I agreed to watch one of the ones he said he didn’t like.  I liked this one.  It makes me feel tres uncultured, but movies with subtitles force me to spent a lot of time reading the subtitles and not a lot of the time appreciating the imagery or acting.  Nonetheless, it was about as good as a “cute” movie can be.

It came in a “Happy Mother’s Day” package.

Here’s something I thought of tonight:  Quentin Tarantino is the best feminist filmmaker of the past 20 years.  Discuss.

A sentence I wrote recently:

“Valentine’s Day is the day that we celebrate the people that we are having sex with in a way that makes us believe that they mean more to us than simply that we are having sex with them”

I’m not sure if I believe it or not.

About this entry