Recency and Primacy

What else is new.

Observations from the last few weeks:

A McChicken sandwich at McDonalds costs $1.00, but it has $40 worth of mayonnaisse on it.  I’m not a hater of mayonnaisse in the way that some people are, but I don’t like my mayonnaisse to create a centimeter of divide between lettuce and the bun.  I’d say more but I think I’ve created a suitable image.  Take a nice big bite of that.

 

At 9:03 am  PST ESPN posted a story citing Major League Baseball and info from the Associated Press that Manny Ramirez had been suspended for using performance enhancing drugs.  At 9:10 I sent a gloating email to Bill Simmons, a writer at ESPN who likes Manny Ramierz.  At 9:15 the story was linked in the Seattle Times Sports Section.  At 9:22 it was the top headline on Google News (above Obama’s $17 Billion in budget cuts and a fire destroying 20 homes in California).   Things I learned from this story:

  • Manny Ramirez using performance enhancing drugs and missing 50 baseball games is more important than $17 billion. 
  • Manny Ramirez using performance enhancing drugs and missing 50 baseball games is more important than 20 homes being destroyed.
  • Manny Ramirez using performance enhancing drugs and missing 50 baseball games is more important to me than my job.

 

 We had a corporate meeting at my job.  During these meetings they give out awards to people who exemplify the company’s “core traits.”  These traits are supposedly assets that they feel the company values.  Things like Creativity, Determination, Integrity, and Accountability.  Bold, abstract ideals to which no one can truly be evaluated.

 

A Coworker says: Middling?  Mediocre? Are those traits yet?

Me:  Bored, maybe.

Coworker:  Is half-asleep an award?

Me:  How about tepid surrender?

About this entry