Inputs

This room that I live in has a few characteristics.  Some of them are affected by me and others aren’t.

The room is small.  That isn’t my fault.

The room is cluttered.  That is my fault.

The room has an intense audial connection to seemingly every other room in the house.

My roommates watch a lot of TV shows, but they watch 24 at an unusual volume.  A volume that should be reserved for space shuttle launches and Nascar events.  I watch a lot of TV shows too, but I have the sense to watch them at work on Hulu, via headphones.

On Sundays, the person who lives above me does laundry.  His washer and dryer seem to be situated on my ceiling.

Everything is either something that used to be or something that will be in the future.  There is no “now.”

Late each night, the person who lives next to me  either enjoys the company of his girlfriend or speaks with her on the phone.

Watchmen the graphic novel seems to me to be a tremendously interesting look at superheros and the graphic novel genre as a whole, groaning under the weight of its author’s self-presumed intellect.  Every scene is 10 pages longer than necessary.  The art is pretty, but dated.  The writing is obtuse and self-absorbed.

Watchmen the movie is an accurate representation of the graphic novel.  Only a few changes have been made, and while they do take away from some of the continuity of the original story, they don’t take away from novelty or precociousness of the world Alan Moore created.

I’ll say it in reviewer-speak:  If you think Watchmen the book is a genious part of American writing that paved the way for blah blah blah and harkened the era of this and that, you’ll feel the same about the movie.  If you think it’s a gloomy, muddled puff piece for Alan Moore’s already overinflated ego, you’ll probably draw that from the movie.  I guess I respect the effort, but got tired of it pretty quickly.

Frequently, The person who lives below me practices an electric bass guitar.

Sometimes, I just sit in my room without doing anything, listening to the TV in the living room.  The images are unimportant, and I can hear every word.

About this entry