One Loose End is Tied

For some reason, when I looking in the corner of the screen, there appeared a small smudge. I tried to scratch it off the LCD with my fingernail-nub until I realized that wordpress puts a small smiley face in the corner of one of their websites. Odd.

“You’re insane.”

“I’m unhappy, It’s not the same thing.” – Kate Wheeler, from Barry Levinson’s Bandits.

I got a foreign object stuck inside of my ear today. I went to the emergency room. The doctor was amused. “Thank you, that was fun,” he said.

“Who made up all the rules? We follow them like fools. Believe them to be true. Don’t care to think them through.” – Jem, They.

The baseball regular season begins today at 3:00 am PST. The game is in Japan.

“And it’s ironic too, ’cause what we tend to do is act on what they say, and then it is that way.”

Girl in Landscape by Jonathan Lethem is best characterized as a “Sci-Fi Western.” It deals with loneliness and coming-of-age and change. The back-summary text calls it a combinations of the grandeur of John Ford’s The Searchers and the sexual tension of Nabokov’s Lolita. But it doesn’t say Nabokov. They assume that people know who Nabokov is and not who John Ford is. Or maybe Barthes’ “Death of the Author” applies to Nabokov and not to the less cannonical Ford. More iconic works transcend their authors.

“Do you see what I see? Why do we live like this? Is it because it’s true, that ignorance is bliss?”

“Surprise Ice” by Kings of Convenience begins with a guitar pattern that is very similar to the beginning of “Sound of Silence” by Simon and Garfunkel.

“Love comes like surprise ice on the water. Love comes like surprise ice at dawn.”

Lethem is my favorite author because he is accessible while still being transcendent. You can sense the greater meaning while still being touched by the surface elements. It’s not too hard, but still attaches itself to something great. It always builds and builds to something relevant, but then ends abruptly, even disappointingly. The main characters never have mothers; they are dead, or deadbeats, or simply gone. They always exist in some iteration of Brooklyn. Girl in Landscape addresses a sort of interspecies gentrification of a community on an alien planet. But it seems almost more ordinary than two friends growing up in real-life Brooklyn in The Fortress of Solitude. It’s almost mundane, in a way.

“It was the worst thing I’d ever heard, but I could tell you were doing it on purpose!” – Jonathan Meiburg

a partial to do list, written on my calendar, because it was the only thing available:

  • send ASP textbook
  • Call Kate
  • Buy ENGL books
  • need pens
  • printer paper
  • batteries
  • magic 6:30 F.P.
  • H.H. location?

My father and I leave the hospital.  I say, “Well, I was having a boring day.”  He laughs.  I don’t.

About this entry